Working Group 5: Electricity Markets

Working Group Leader

Dr. Lynne Kiesling

Associate Director, John H. Schnatter Center for Economic Research, Purdue University

Member, NIST Smart Grid Advisory Committee

Members emerita, GridWise Architecture Council

Focus of the Working Group

The “Electricity Markets” Working Group will consider methods to increases customer access to new technologies and stimulate the distribution-level market participation. It will explore market-based platform transactions that the grid can enable and will also study ways to enhance consumer access to Illinois’ competitive retail markets.

NextGrid Wants Your Input

NextGrid would like to include all perspectives, and welcomes your input. If you are not a member on this working group, but wish to contribute to the discussion with comments related to Working Group meeting agendas and meeting summaries, please submit those comments to All comments will be forwarded to the Working Group Leader. Thank you in advance for your participation in the NextGrid study.

Working Group Members

  • Advanced Energy Economy Institute
  • Ameren Illinois
  • American Petroleum Institute
  • Argonne National Laboratory
  • Building Owners and Managers Association, Chicago
  • Citizen’s Utility Board
  • Clark Hill PLC
  • Commonwealth Edison
  • Direct Energy
  • Environmental Defense Fund
  • Exelon
  • GlidePath
  • Illinois Attorney General’s Office
  • Illinois Chamber of Commerce
  • Illinois Industrial Energy Consumers
  • Invenergy
  • MeterGenius
  • Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance
  • Natural Resources Defense Council
  • Open Access Technology International
  • Paul Centolella & Associates
  • Plugged in Strategies
  • PROactive Strategies
  • Quanta Technology
  • Rakon Energy LLC
  • Retail Energy Supply Association
  • Ross Hemphill Solutions
  • S & C Electric
  • Sargent and Lundy LLC
  • University of Chicago
  • Vote Solar
  • West Monroe Partners