Working Group 3: Reliability, Resiliency and Cyber Security

Working Group Leaders

Manimaran Govindarasu, Ph.D.

Mehl Professor and Associate Chair; Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Iowa State University

Dominic Saebeler

Director of Cyber Security and Risk Management

Illinois Commerce Commission

Focus of the Working Group

The Reliability, Resiliency, and Cyber Security Working Group is exploring existing and new challenges to reliability, resiliency and security of the electric grid. It will assess the impact of feasible attacks and the suitability of existing solutions to mitigate risks to the grid, in both its current and future state. Key topics for the Working Group include the challenges, opportunities, and potential solutions in the areas of technology, people, processes, and regulation and compliance.

NextGrid Wants Your Input

NextGrid would like to include all perspectives, and welcomes your input. If you are not a member on this working group, but wish to contribute to the discussion with comments related to Working Group meeting agendas and meeting summaries, please submit those comments to Please use this white paper template if you wish to contribute extensive written materials. All comments will be forwarded to the Working Group Leader. Thank you in advance for your participation in the NextGrid study.

Public Comments Received

Working Group Members

  • Ameren Illinois
  • American Petroleum Institute
  • Argonne National Laboratory
  • Commonwealth Edison
  • Chicago Advanced Energy
  • Citizen’s Utility Board
  • Clay Electric Cooperative
  • DHS
  • Eastern Illinois University
  • EPRI
  • Ernst & Young
  • Illinois Attorney General’s Office
  • Illinois Manufacturers' Association
  • Illinois Medical District
  • Illinois Municipal Electric Agency
  • Illinois National Guard (Army and Air)
  • KDM Engineering
  • MidAmerican
  • MISO
  • PJM
  • Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Reyes Kurson
  • S&C Electric Company
  • Sargent & Lundy
  • Schneider Electric
  • Switched Source
  • VGI Energy Solutions
  • Washington State University
  • West Monroe Partners
  • Glidepath